Extreme Views of Kali

                                 

          It is not hard to see how Kali can be viewed in a pretty negative manner. I mean, she’s got heads all over the place. I don’t know why, but I just recently remembered a Christian evangelical tract that I found somewhere more than ten years ago that portrays a pretty extreme view of the goddess Kali. I found a link to it here. Now most people would see this and see the very, very obvious (and frankly ridiculous) biases that are both explicitly stated and inferred. I was curious as to what would make someone think about Kali like this, apart from Indiana Jones, so I did some research (Googling…). It turns out that there are actually human sacrifices to Kali still occurring, albeit rarely.  Here is an instance of a murder I found that is relatively recent. As a father of a young child this is horrifying. Now as a rational human being I am completely aware that most of those who claim to be devotees of Kali are not murderers, but a very few are.

One thought on “Extreme Views of Kali

Leave a Reply

